Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Cline reelected to 2nd South Tama Board term

Write-ins reported

September 21, 2017
By John Speer - Editor ( , Toledo Chronicle, Tama News-Herald

Incumbent South Tama District 4 School Board Director Alan Kline, rural Toledo, was reelected by write-in vote to a second four-years term. Kline, who did not file nomination papers, had actively sought the post by write-in vote.

Tama County Supervisors Kendall Jordan and Larry Vest canvassed the vote on Friday afternoon, Sept. 15, and the results are official.

Kline is joined by newly elected South Tama board members Ronald Houghton, Toledo, District 1 and Mandy Lekin, Toledo, elected to fill an unexpired two-year term as District 2 director. They both were elected without opposition.

Article Photos

Canvas of Sept. 12 school election- (l-r seated) 2nd District Supervisor Kendall Jordan and 1st District Supervisor Larry Vest canvas the votes cast in the Sept. 12 school elections. They are assisted by Tama County Elections Administrator Karen Rohrs (standing, left) and Auditor and Elections Commissioner Laura Kopsa. Gladbrook-Reinbeck Schools Superintendent David Hill observes at right. A referendum on the Sept. 12 ballot to dissolve the GR District was rejected.
Chronicle/John Speer

Houghton replaces Michelle Yuska who did not seek reelection and Lekin fills the unexpired term of Mark McFate who resigned.

Note: write-in votes are reported as they are recorded- some may note be conventional spellings)

STC District 4 results: All write-ins- Alan Kline- 84, Bruce Richards- 12, one vote each- Steve Burr, Kim Stein, Sam Ferriss, Dee Shope, Randy Pieper, Brian Hempy, Matt Daniels.

STC District 1- Ronald Lee Houghton- 126; write in votes- Two votes each- Michelle Yuska- 4, Mary Jones, Mary Kendall, Kevin Nelson, one vote each- Alan Kline, Eric Wacha, Mike Wedmore, Bruce Richards, Larry Fletcher, Lester Gebhardt, Steve Vesely, Stepheny Babinat, Jeff Shaw, Bruce Richardson

STC District 2- to fill unexpired term- Mandy Lekin- 153; Write-ins- one vote each- Dan Yuska, Tom Kemper, Bruce Richards, Anyone elese, Frank Albertson, Roy Frakes.

Gladbrook-Reinbeck to dissolve school district:


YES- 690

No- 1,545

By precinct:

Gladbrook- YES- 592 NO- 105

Lincoln- YES- 66 NO- 86

Reinbeck- YES-32 No- 1,354



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web