Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Induct 21 into Phi Theta Kappa honor society

April 15, 2018
From: Robin Anctil - Director of Marketing- Iowa Valley Community College District , Toledo Chronicle, Tama News-Herald

Marshalltown The Alpha Iota Rho Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Marshalltown Community College inducted 21 new members this week. Phi Theta Kappa is an international honor society for two-year colleges. To qualify for membership, MCC students must be in a degree-seeking program with a cumulative 3.5 grade point average, and have completed a minimum of 12 credit hours.

PTK Co-Advisor Pele Waddilove welcomed the inductees and guests. She gave a history of the organization and reviewed the local chapter's annual activities, most of which focus on service and leadership. Since the MCC chapter was chartered in 1984, it has inducted 892 members, including the 21 new members inducted this week.

MCC Provost Dr. Robin Lilienthal told the audience that students join PTK for many reasons, and that all are welcomed. She said the honor society members are high achieving, service oriented student leaders who are destined for success.

Article Photos

New PTK honor society inductees and Marshalltown Community College administrators and ceremony participants. Front row: Desiree Freeman, Wellsburg, Sabryna Sartin, Marshalltown, Caitlyn Moneysmith, Knoxville, Savanna Lopez, Montour, Amber Martenson, Gilman, KaeLynne Meling, Garwin, and Vel Zi. Middle row: Dr. Robin Lilienthal, Eunice Mbafor, Joshua Arment, Esteban Serrano, Drew Elliott, Haverhill, Jacob Dixon, Laurel, Zane Johnson, LeGrand and MCC Dean of Academic Affairs Patrick Kennedy. Back row: PTK Co-Advisor Pele Waddilove, PTK Chapter Vice President Kaylee Howe, Lisa Butler, Kristine Wilder, Marshalltown, Haruka Sugiyama, Tokoyo, Japan, PTK Chapter President Allison Fisher, PTK Co-Advisor P.J. Colbert and Cynthia Coury (usher). Not pictured: Jacqueline Archambault, Alex Dickey, Anhel Elliott, Heidi Harban-Howe and Kimberly Yates.
-Photo provided

In a message from the MCC faculty, English Professor and PTK Co-Advisor P.J. Colbert shared a slideshow of PTK activity photos from recent years. She encouraged the new inductees to attend meetings, become involved in the local chapter activities, and make the most years. She encouraged the new inductees toof their PTK membership.

As inductees signed the membership book and received a PTK stole, Colbert read a short biographical statement about each new member. Each inductee then lit a candle signifying a torch of knowledge, and all recited the membership pledge. Assisting with the ceremony were PTK Chapter President Allison Fisher, PTK Chapter Vice President Kaylee Howe, and PTK member/usher Cynthia Coury. MCC Dean of Academic Affairs Patrick Kennedy was also in attendance.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web