Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

On the Stump: Politics 2018

July 29, 2018
Toledo Chronicle, Tama News-Herald

DES MOINES - Iowa Secretary of State Paul Pate was named President-Elect of the National Association of Secretaries of State recently. The bipartisan organization unanimously backed Pate for the prestigious position during their annual summer conference, held this year in Philadelphia.

Additionally, the Office of Iowa Secretary of State Paul Pate is the recipient of the Election Center's 2018 Professional Practice State Award for his office's training materials for poll workers. The award was presented to Secretary Pate and his staff during the National Association of State Election Directors summer conference alos held in Philadelphia.

The "Storyboard Training for Poll Workers" paper prepared by Secretary Pate's office provides step-by-step instructions for poll workers regarding the various scenarios for implementing Iowa's new voter ID requirements. The materials were submitted to all 99 county auditors in the state and distributed to poll workers.

Article Photos

Pate is being challeged in the Nov. 6 I Iowa General Eelction by Rob Sand who scheduled to make a campaign stop at the King Tower Cafe in Tama on Monday.

WASHINGTON - U.S. Sen. Chuck Grassley of Iowa has not missed a vote in the United States Senate in 25 years. July 20, 1993 marks the date when his current consecutive voting streak began. The last vote Grassley missed occurred in 1993 when he was in Iowa due to the terrible floods that ravaged the state.

"Representative government only works when both the people and their elected representatives communicate and participate in the process. I look forward to my 99 county meetings every year because each of them is an opportunity to listen to the concerns and priorities of Iowans," Grassley said.

To date, Grassley has cast 8,169 consecutive votes and holds the record for longest length of time without missing a vote in the history of the Senate. Grassley broke this record in January 2016, which was previously held by the late Wisconsin Senator William Proxmire.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web