Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Induct 21 into Phi Theta Kappa honor society

April 15, 2019
From: Michelle Frost - Marketing Coordinator Iowa Valley Community College District , Toledo Chronicle, Tama News-Herald

The Alpha Iota Rho Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Marshalltown Community College inducted 21 new members this week. Phi Theta Kappa is an international honor society for two-year colleges. To qualify for membership, MCC students must be in a degree-seeking program with a cumulative 3.5 grade point average, and have completed a minimum of 12 credit hours.

PTK Co-Advisor Pele Waddilove welcomed the inductees and guests. She gave a history of the organization and reviewed the local chapter's annual activities, most of which focus on service and leadership. Since the MCC chapter was chartered in 1984, it has inducted 941 members, including the 21 new members inducted this week.

MCC Provost Robin Lilienthal told the audience that students join PTK for many reasons, and that all are welcomed. She said the honor society members are high achieving, service oriented student leaders who are destined for success.

Article Photos

New PTK honor society inductees and Marshalltown Community College administrators and ceremony participants. Front row: Joel Serrano Mercado, McKayla Babinat, Destinie Johnson, Kaitlyn Stull, Yamilet Cachan, Isabel Perez, Lotte Van Malsen, Julia Fox, Kristen Selken, and Lucille Lilienthal. Middle row: Jasmeine Villagomez, Tiffany Matney, Peyton Miller, Paige Jacobson, Ana Garcia, Eric Keller, Justine Banyuy, Zoe Duncan, Noah Bandstra, Dr. Patrick Kennedy, Dr. Robin Lilienthal, and Dr. Chris Duree. Back row: Pele Waddilove, Kaylee Howe, Kristine Wilder, Tiffany Thomas and PJ Colbert.
-Photo provided

Iowa Valley Community College District Chancellor Chris Duree, addressed the inductees and welcomed their family and friends. He also thanked Waddilove and PTK Co-Advisor PJ Colbert for their hard work and dedication to the MCC PTK program. Duree focused his address on what it takes to be a good leader and some recommendations on how to achieve these things.

As inductees signed the membership book and received a PTK stole, Colbert read a short biographical statement about each new member. Each inductee then lit a candle signifying a torch of knowledge, and all recited the membership pledge. Assisting with the ceremony were PTK Chapter President Tiffany Thomas and Vice President Kaylee Howe. MCC Dean of Academic Affairs Dr. Patrick Kennedy was also in attendance.

Spring 2019 inductees, listed by hometown, are: Arecibo, Puerto Rico - Joel Serrano Mercado, Bamenda, Cameroon - Justine Banyuy, Conrad, Paige Jacobson, Garwin, Zoe Duncan. Gladbrook Eric Keller, Grinnell, IA - Peyton Miller, Marshalltown, Noah Bandstra, Dalton Basinger, Julia Fox, Ana Garcia, Osaac Ogston, Kristen Selken and Jasmeine Villagomez all of Newton - Lucille Lilienthal, Tama, - McKayla Babinat and Destinie Johnson, Tilburg, The Netherlands, Lotte Van Malsen, Tocuyito, Venezuela - Yamilet Cachan, Zoe Duncan, Toledo, Valencia, Republic of Venezuela - Isabel Perez, ining, Tiffany Matney, Vining.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web