Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Celebrate Iowa School Board “superheroes” this May

News-Herald Guest View

May 3, 2019
Iowa Association of School Boards , Toledo Chronicle, Tama News-Herald

DES MOINES- The Iowa Association of School Boards (IASB) invites communities to celebrate and thank their local school board superheroes during School Board Recognition Month, May 1-31, 2019. This year's theme, 'Superheroes for Public Education', pays tribute to the incredible work of these unpaid volunteers and the significant impact they have on Iowa public education.

While school board members may not look like superheroes because they don't wear capes, look again. As Zeus from the movie Hercules once said, "A true hero isn't measured by the size of his strength but by the strength of his heart." School board members are superheroes disguised as friends, coworkers and neighbors.

More than 2,000 Iowa board members (1,875 K-12, 79 AEA and 124 community college board members) volunteer countless hours on board work each month-a truly heroic effort that receives no compensation or recognition, but does carry one very significant reward of service-meeting the needs of students and communities.

"I find board service incredibly rewarding because I can help provide innovative opportunities that impact not only today's students, but the education of future students. We develop policy, oversee the budget and set the direction of the district. Our decisions impact the entire community-and most importantly, our students," said IASB Board President and Pella Board President Joan Corbin.

These locally elected superheroes oversee $5.9 billion statewide in Iowa public schools for 486,264 students.

Please join us in shining a spotlight on these superheroes by publicly thanking them for their hard work and dedication. IASB has developed a media toolkit which includes public service announcements, school board member facts and graphics for news articles. Visit to access these resources.

Fact Box

South Tama Community School District members are: Penny Tyynismaa, Tama, Jackie Dvorak, Chelsea, Mandy Lekin, Toledo, Alan Kline, rural Toledo and Ronald Houghton, Toledo

Iowa Valley Community School District - Director District 6 is Joanna Hofer, rural Toledo, which includes All that portion lying within the South Tama and Brooklyn-Guernsey-Malcolm School Districts, and the portion of Grinnell-Newburg School District lying within MS Precinct in Poweshiek County of said school district

Central Rivers Area Education Agency District 6 Director is Maureen Hanson, Hudson. The district includes the school districts of South Tama, BGM, Gladbrook-Reinbeck, Grinnell-Newburg, Hudson, Montezuma, North Tama County and Union

IASB is a nonprofit organization representing Iowa's 330 public school districts, nine area education agencies and 15 community colleges.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web